Usha Rai | Artist, Writer | Bangalore

A woman who started painting only at the age of 60, is today a renowned artist with solo/ group shows and web galleries exhibited nationally and internationally.

“I am an established writer in Kannada. I have published 20 books. I was very much involved in literary as well as social service organizations. I took voluntary retirement from bank job at the age of 55 to pursue my literary works.

But the will of God was different! 

We, met with a near fatal road accident and was confined to bed for six months with multiple fractures. When I could sit up I started painting again with the guidance of my artist friend Nimi Ravindranath because I wanted some outlet to overcome the trauma of the accident. It really worked and I became an artist. I was 60 at that time. After 2 years I exhibited my works in a solo exhibition and it surprised everyone. Now I am 70 and thoroughly enjoying painting. Painting is a stress buster to me. I usually paint what I like. I paint from my heart. It may be flowers,nature or people. “

In July 2005 a near fatal car accident threatened to ruin her life and confined her to bed for almost 6 months. That was when she took to painting seriously as a therapy to overcome the mental and physical trauma. She immersed herself in painting during those rough times and very soon within a period of two years, she compiled her present collection of over 40 paintings.

‘No matter what life offers you, turn them into opportunities’ is what Usha did. Some of her original art pieces and prints are sold through www.fineartamerica.com worldwide. One of her painting ‘Universe’ is purchased by a yoga center in US. ‘Musician’ is purchased by an American Lady in St Louis. Many of her art pieces adore the walls of art lovers in Karnataka, different cities in India, USA, England and Australia.

 

Leave a comment